What is the HSK Chinese Proficiency Test

2023-09-12 Chinese

The Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (汉语水平考试 [Hànyǔ Shuǐpíng Kǎoshì]), translated as Chinese Proficiency Test, is the standardized expertise test for language proficiency in Mandarin in the People's Republic of China for non-native speakers.

The test is managed by Hanban, an agency of the Ministry of Education in the People's Republic of China responsible for the exam worldwide, and it is them who provide an official vocabulary list for each level.

The Vocabulary to be studied and examined is defined by Hanban; grammar, however, is much more flexible and each institution may choose freely how to teach it.

At Chinesimple each level provides a list of lessons, so you can learn all the necessary grammatical skills and prepare your HSK Exam.

The HSK-Test Structure

The HSK test consists of a written and an oral test, which can be taken separately. The oral test is also known as HSKK (汉语水平口语考试 [Hànyǔ Shuǐpíng Kǒuyǔ Kǎoshì]).

The HSK consists of three groups, each with two different HSK levels:

The exams for Level 1 and 2 are divided into three parts (Vocabulary, Listening Comprehension, and Reading Comprehension), while the exams for levels 3, 4, 5, and 6 also include a fourth Writing section.

That is why in Chinesimple you can test yourself within the four different types of exams with four different degrees of difficulty and evaluate your level on vocabulary, listening comprehension, reading comprehension, and writing.

What punctuation do I need to pass the HSK test?

In order to pass the HSK test, you have to obtain 60% of the whole punctuation, that is, 120 points for HSK 1 and 2, and 180 points for HSK 3, 4, 5, and 6.

For what HSK level should I apply?

At Chinesimple, you can test your knowledge by taking the HSK tests by level. With all information provided, you will be able to make the most suitable decision. In addition, you will be able to monitor your progress at any time and check whether with what you have learned so far you should move on to the next HSK level.

How does the new HSK 3.0 work?

All the information on this page refers to the standard HSK 2.0 which is still used in the official HSK exams. In July 2021, Hanban published the new vocabulary lists of the new HSK 3.0 standards which include significant changes. However, at the moment, no official tests are being carried out yet with this new vocabulary, but this does not prevent that in Chinesimple, you can already study and test yourself with the new HSK 3.0. You will find more information about this new standard in the “The new HSK 3.0” section.